Oct. 28, 2019: As is undoubtedly apparent, I have not taken an active interest in this web site in quite some time. I am now, in increments as time permits, trying to update it a bit. The above photo is the first step. Next, I am planning to update the Recommended Reading section with some more recent publications. You may assume that everything else dates back to 2011 or even further.

July 19, 2011

A Little About Me

I am a graduate of the University of Michigan School of Social Work (MSW) and a graduate of the Institute for Advanced Study of Human Sexuality in San Francisco (PhD). To begin, I am letting any reader know that this long neglected website is in the process of getting updated. It will be a gradual process, and I will work on it as time permits. However, history will not change, just updates for keeping up with the times.

I am a licensed Clinical Social Worker (LMSW), and a member of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). I am a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT), a member of the American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors and Therapists as well as an AASECT Certified Diplomate of Sex Therapy. I am also a member of the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH) .
I began a part time private practice in 1984, making it full time in 1989 and continuing to the present. I have been specializing in gender identity issues since 1992. Prior to 1989, I worked in several agencies, developing a broad background of experience as a therapist, working with adolescents, adults, couples, and families. I have  given  many workshops and presentations, primarily on various aspects of transgender for professional organizations and for transgender community organizations.
My doctoral thesis was on sexual orientation in male-to-female transgender people in the process of transition and I am the author of one book and several articles related to transgender. I live and work just outside of Ann Arbor, Michigan. In addition to my clinical practice and professional writing, I enjoy creative writing, reading, cooking, music, movies and theater, and  especially spending time with my family and cats.